What are the Chakras?

According to the ancient Hindu and yogic traditions, there are seven main energy centres in the subtle body. Known as Chakras, these centres start from the base of the spine up to the crown of the head.

Each chakra is connected to unique aspects of our Being. Knowing what each chakra represents allows us to become aware of those aspects so we can experience them and learn what we can do to keep the energy flowing freely.

Learn more about the chakras HERE

Try our Chakra Quiz to discover which chakra connects with you the most!


I am, I am at peace, I understand, I am light.

Sahasrara, or Crown Chakra, is the seventh chakra and is located at the top of the head. It is represented by a thousand-petaled lotus and is considered to be the centre of wisdom and pure consciousness. It relates to devotion, inspiration, selflessness and spiritual understanding. It is related to the Central Nervous System.

A balanced seventh chakra means highly developed emotional awareness and a feeling of oneness.

The Crown Chakra is our centre of knowledge as well as our connection to divinity, spirituality and everything in the universe - physical or otherwise.

Learn more about Sahasrara chakra HERE


I see clearly, I think clearly, I trust my intuition, I trust my decisions.

Ajna, or Third Eye Chakra, is located between the eyebrows, just above the bridge of the nose.

It is represented by a lotus with two petals and is thought to be the centre that controls all higher mental activities including psychic, emotional, and mental intelligence, and insight. It is related to the pineal gland which produces the hormones serotonin and melatonin.

A healthy and balanced sixth chakra means keen imagination and intellect, strong intuition and deep spiritual awareness.

Learn more about Ajna chakra HERE


I speak my truth, I express myself, I speak with kindness, I speak with love.

Vishuddha, or Throat Chakra, is the purification centre and is located at the throat.

It is represented by a crescent within a 16 -petal lotus and it relates to communication, inspiration, expression and faith.

A healthy balance in the Vishuddha Chakra would be shown as fluent and clear thought, creative written and spoken expression, and wisdom. It is related to the thyroid and parathyroid glands.

The Throat Chakra is our centre of truth and self expression. It governs our ability to express ourselves through our opinions and voice.

Learn more about Vishuddha chakra HERE


I love, I am loved, I accept myself, I accept others.

Anahata, or Heart Chakra, is located at the center of the chest. It is symbolised by a lotus with 12 petals.

It represents love, acceptance and trust. Anahata is the centre of compassion and is related to the immune and endocrine systems.

A healthy balance in the heart chakra means sensitivity and unconditional love for the self and others - being a compassionate person who is sensitive to other people’s needs.

Learn more about Anahata chakra HERE


I am confident, I have a purpose, I am capable, I do.

Manipura, or Solar Plexus Chakra, is the third chakra and is located between the belly button and the bottom of the rib cage.

It is symbolised by a triangle within a 10 - petal lotus. It relates to personal power, self esteem and energy, and is also related to the metabolic and digestive systems.

A healthy balance in the Manipura Chakra would be visible in the form of motivation, purpose and confidence.

Learn more about Manipura chakra HERE


I am inspired, I am creative, I am joyful, I am unique.

Svadhisthana, or Sacral Chakra, is located at the lower abdomen between the belly button and the pubic bone.

It is symbolised by a lotus with six petals, and it relates to creativity, pleasure/pain, relationships, and emotions.

A positive balance in the Svadhisthana Chakra would be represented by stability in one’s sexuality, sensuality and emotions. It is related to the reproductive system.

Learn more about Svadisthana chakra HERE


I am grounded and I am connected to the whole of Life, I belong, I am worthy, I am strong.

Muladhara, or Root Chakra, is located at the base of the spine.

It is symbolised by a lotus with four petals. Muladhara represents the centre of instincts, stability of mind and body, survival and self-sufficiency.

This chakra is about belonging. It is about our basic needs and instincts, and also motivation and vitality for the physical body.

Our Root Chakra is what grounds us. It’s the foundation on which we build ourselves. It supports our confidence, strength and overall sense of well-being.

Learn more about Muladhara chakra HERE

  • Check out our Chakra collection and find the perfect gift for yourself or for someone special!

  • Try our Chakra Quiz to discover which Chakra connects with you the most!