What are the Chakras?

According to the ancient Hindu and yogic traditions, there are seven main energy centres in the subtle body. Known as Chakras, these centres start from the the base of the spine up to the crown of the head.

Each chakra is connected to unique aspects of our Being. Knowing what each chakra represents allows us to become aware of those aspects so we can experience them and learn what we can do to keep the energy flowing freely.


Sahasrara, or Crown Chakra, is the seventh chakra and is located at the top of the head. It is represented by a thousand-petaled lotus and is considered to be the centre of wisdom and pure consciousness. It relates to devotion, inspiration, selflessness and spiritual understanding. It is related to the Central Nervous System.

A balanced seventh chakra means highly developed emotional awareness and a feeling of oneness.

The Crown Chakra is our centre of knowledge as well as our connection to divinity, spirituality and everything in the universe - physical or otherwise.